WK13-ARTIST INTERVIEW- SHIHORI NAKAYAMA

 

I am so sorry I had to use this photo.....
I am so sorry I had to use this photo…..

This week I had the pleasure to interview Shihori Nakayama. This is her BFA exhibition at Cal State Long Beach.

FullSizeRender 44

 

What do you mean by the title of your exhibition?

This means taking back my own good memories. There are all good memories when I was a child so all the scenes and the people actually exist. The dog in the drawing is the dog I have and the cat is the cat my friend had.

FullSizeRender 46

 

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Hokkaido, which is a Northern part of Japan.

When did you come to the United States?

I came here when I was twelve.

What inspired your art?

I was really influenced by Japanese mangas, like Hayao Miyazaki who is the creator of the Studio Gibli movies and Eiichiro Oda who wrote the One Piece manga series.

How long does it take for you to finish one piece?

I usually don’t draw my pieces at once because I get bored and start another piece and then go back to the first one and then do the other one……. so probably two or three days.

What kind of career do you have in mind after you graduate?

I am thinking of a freelance illustrator, making my own books, series.

How did you make the piece of the wall?

I drew the scene and then I can the image and then bring it into print.

It took about four months to do this.

FullSizeRender 42

This was my favorite piece. It is a big piece so it has a strong impact but at the same time, the colors are so soft that it has some soft, relaxing visual impact.

 

Do you like printmaking better or drawing better?

I can’t choose, its about the same.

 

I really likes her art because it was different from what I see a lot. The combination of illustration and printmaking was a new ting to me and it inspired me a lot. I think her work attracted me a lot because I am from Japan and it feels like I know the places in her images. The calm, pastel and soft colors reminds me of the calm, relaxed people in the countryside of Japan and it is one of the reasons I like it so much. Overall, I had a really good time spending time i her exhibition and I really loved her work.

 

Leave a Reply

